The Old Post Office

Located just inside the New Forest the complete restoration of this 18th Century former post office and village bakery was completed in March 2013.

The original Cob cottage was believed to have been constructed in the 1780’s and occupied by the Hann family who ran a bakery on site until 1896.

We worked closely with English Heritage Homes during this unique restoration process which involved the reinstatement of the original cob structure which had deteriorated considerably as well as the reintroduction of a lime plaster finish — both of these traditional building methods were very common practice and it is believed they date back to the 13th Century.

Today the Old Post Office is a fully restored five bedroom country house set within its own beautiful grounds.